Mandatory New Texas Attorney Course
Things You Need to Know About the Justice James A. Baker Guide to Ethics and Professionalism in Texas Course Requirement:
- Since 1996, the Supreme Court of Texas requires all newly-licensed lawyers in Texas to complete a four-hour professionalism course, Justice James A. Baker Guide to Ethics and Professionalism in Texas, no later than 12 months after the date of licensure. Use the calculator below to determine your deadline.
- You can find copies of the order here.
- No other course can be substituted to fulfill this requirement.
- If you are an attorney licensed in another state but are newly-licensed in Texas, you are required to complete the course.
- There are not any waivers for the requirement.
- Attorneys who complete the course after the 12 month deadline, will incur a $150 late fee penalty.
- Suspension of law license will occur if the course and any relevant fees are not paid within 16 months.
- Upon completion of the course and payment of relevant fees, you will receive four hours of ethics CLE credit.
Military Spouse Attorneys are required to complete the Justices James A. Baker Guide to Ethics and Professionalism in Texas.
Please be advised that under the terms of Supreme Court Order 19-9076, dated August 13, 2019, you must complete the mandatory CLE program within the six months of receiving a temporary license in Texas. You will an email from the Texas Center for Legal Ethics as to how to access the course and comply with the order. If you have not received correspondence, please contact the Center at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Still have questions? Click here to view frequently asked questions about the course requirement.
In light of the current COVID-19 pandemic, the Texas Center for Legal Ethics is extending deadlines for the Supreme Court of Texas mandated course, the Justice James A. Baker Guide to Ethics and Professionalism in Texas. Please see the following extensions:
- Grant an automatic 60-day extension to attorneys reaching their compliance deadlines in March 2020, April 2020, or May 2020.
- Attorneys now subject to suspension for failing to comply with MCLE requirements in November 2019 or December 2019 will have an additional one-month extension.
There will be no waivers granted for those who do not comply within the deadlines.
Calculate Your Completion Requirements
Enter the date on your bar card to determine your deadline.
- When is my deadline to complete the course?
- When will need to take the late version of the course?
- When will my license be suspended if I do not take the course?