Justice Eugene A. Cook Professionalism Award

About the Award:  The Justice Eugene A. Cook Professionalism Award was established in 2018 by the Houston Bar Association Board of Directors to recognize a lawyer or judge who exemplifies the highest level of legal ethics and a lifetime of professionalism.  

 Pictured above are (left to right) Warren Harris, President of the Houston Bar Association; Chief Justice Nathan Hecht; Justice Jeff Brown and Fred Hagans, co-author of the Texas Lawyer's Creed.‚Äč


2018 – The inaugural recipient of the award is its namesake, the Hon. Eugene A. Cook, a former Texas Supreme Court Justice and former president of the Houston Bar Association, who is often called the “father of professionalism” in Texas. Texas Supreme Court Chief Justice Nathan Hecht accepted the award on behalf of Justice Cook, who was unable to attend.

Subscription  ❯

Get your Texas CLE hours and so much more!

Sign In


Forgot Password?
Don’t have an account, create one.