In light of the current COVID-19 pandemic, the Texas Center for Legal Ethics is extending deadlines for the Supreme Court of Texas mandated course, the Justice James A. Baker Guide to Ethics and Professionalism in Texas. Please see the following extensions:
- Grant an automatic 60-day extension to attorneys reaching their compliance deadlines in March 2020, April 2020, or May 2020.
- Attorneys now subject to suspension for failing to comply with MCLE requirements in November 2019 or December 2019 will have an additional one-month extension.
There will be no waivers granted for those who do not comply within the deadlines.
Taught by some of Texas’ most influential lawyers and judges, The Justice James A. Baker Guide to Ethics and Professionalism in Texas course provides newly licensed attorneys with a solid foundation for a successful legal career. It features a discussion on Ethics, Practice Management, Career Killers and a panel discussion, Launching Your Legal Career-Tips for Success.
This course qualifies for the Texas Supreme Court-mandated four hours of ethics/professional responsibility/participatory MCLE credit with the State Bar of Texas MCLE Department and must be completed no later than 12 months after being licensed.
After you view the videos and affirm your completion of all four parts of the course, you will receive a Certificate of Completion and information that will allow you to register your completion with the State Bar of Texas, thus fulfilling your obligations.
Once you register for the online course, you have 90 days to complete it. If you fail to finalize all four segments of the course within 90 days, you will be required to pay a $35 fee to reactivate the course. Please note, however, that the 90-day period does not change your deadline to complete the course as required by the Supreme Court of Texas. If that deadline is before the end of the 90-day period, you must complete all four segments of the course before that deadline or you will be assessed an additional late fee of $150 for failure to comply with the Court's order on time.
Please note that group viewings are not available for this course. In order to receive credit for online viewing, individuals must register separately and watch the course in its entirety.
Please contact us regarding transferring or cancelling your registration at firstname.lastname@example.org. There is a $25 fee each time you to wish change or cancel your registration. If twelve months has passed before requesting a transfer you will be required to pay the full registration price and the $150.00 penalty for not taking the course within the time constraints set by the court. The $5.00 credit card processing fee is non-refundable.
To Lift Suspension of Law License:
You must complete the LATE version of the Justice James A. Baker Guide to Ethics and Professionalism in Texas course. You must also pay a $25 administrative fee to lift your suspension. You can either pay by credit card or check.
To pay by credit card: complete a credit card authorization form and email or fax it to us at 512-427-4125 for processing. Do not return the form to the State Bar of Texas Membership Department or processing of your payment will be delayed.
To pay by check: make $25 check payable to the Clerk of the Supreme Court and mail it to Texas Center for Legal Ethics, 1414 Colorado, 4th Floor, Austin, TX 78701. Once the course is completed and the fee has been paid, the suspension will be lifted.